Nursery Reveal

22 Oct

I know awhile back I both asked for advice on making the nursery more cheerful with bright colors and also gave little sneak peeks of what we were doing along the way.

I am so excited to show everyone the final product because I think it turned out REALLY awesome. In fact, it is now probably one of my favorite rooms in the house. I sometimes find myself just going in there and sitting in the glider while eating breakfast or reading. I love it! ūüôā

We ended up going with a “School Room” theme since we had an old desk that was The Hubs’s grandma’s, had an “A B C” quilt, and were planning on putting up bookshelves.

We got a fun ABC carpet that  my mom found at a learning store and is typically used in a classroom. At first, I thought it was going to be too much for the room, but once we put it in, it was the perfect fit!

Here’s the old school desk with our new sound machine and froggy humidifier on top.

The magnetic chalkboard was made by The Hubs  using an old frame his mom found at a resale shop and I purchased fun magnetic letters and numbers on Amazon.

My mother-in-law helped me make the embroidery hoop decorations. We picked colorful fabric to put in the hoops and then found some wood animals that we velcroed in the center. We have a few extras so we can change them out when we want! She also made the curtains which turned out awesome!

Bookshelves were a MUST in the nursery since I LOVE to read and I want the little one to love them just as much as I do. My mother-in-law had saved tons of books from when The Hubs was little (which is funny because he really doesn’t like to read!), so we were set with lots of books to fill the shelves with. The little red storage containers we found at Target brought in a pop of color and also provided a place to store toys away from The Pup!

Here is the glider that I’ve been spending LOTS of times in.

Finally, the dresser/changing station wall, where I framed  a couple of the ultrasound pictures and where there is a space just waiting for a piece of art that we bought.

The Hubs and I are not really art aficionados, but when we were in Tahoe we found this piece of art that we both REALLY loved and thought that it would be a perfect fit for the nursery. It was a bit of an investment, but we thought it was ¬†a timeless pieces that would work for years to come!¬†Unfortunately¬† we haven’t received the art yet since the artist, John-Mark Gleadow, has had some issues with his publisher. We are hoping to get it though in a couple of weeks. Here’s a picture of the piece we took at the gallery:

Won’t it be perfect for the nursery??

I’m so proud of this room! I’m totally not much of a decorator, but I think that it really all came together beautifully! Hope the little one loves it as much as we do!

 

2 Responses to “Nursery Reveal”

  1. dosomethingamzing October 22, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    That room looks amazing!! Y’all did a nice job=) Hopefully Rusty doesn’t get into mischief!!

  2. Kristina October 22, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    the room came out sooo cute!! so good it should even be on PINTEREST! now that is saying a lot ;)))

Let's Chat!

