Week 36

10 Oct

Week 36 Highlights

  • We had another childbirth class at the hospital where we will be delivering. I’m probably doing overkill on the childbirth prep, but since The Hubs isn’t reading any books, the class format really helped both of us! My favorite activity was practicing relaxation techniques while holding ice cubes. I know it is NOTHING compared to what labor will be, but it at least showed that relaxing and breathing deeply makes the time go by faster. It was also fun to see The Hubs try it out! I also figured out that I really like sitting on a birth ball and like to also have my lower back massaged. Hopefully these things will come in handy when the time comes!
  • I hung out with another friend who is preggo, but about 3 months behind me. We talked about all things baby, which was fun!
  • I had a Perinatolgist appointment which I was dreading, especially with all of the drama of last week. I also had to wait forever to see the doctor and when I finally got in the exam room had to listen to a women in the next room moan and cry for over 20 minutes. That really doesn’t help with the nerves. Once the doctor finally arrived, he measured my belly (still small), but was ok with it all based on the ultrasound information. He looked at my sugar numbers which looked good and again judged me that I hadn’t gained enough weight. All things said though, he informed me that I didn’t have to come back to see him unless something else high risk occurred. Hallelujah! I graduated! One less doctor to see!
  • I started working from home the two days a week I have doctor or NST appointments. This is SO helpful. I found that I get SO much more done at home then at work, especially when I eliminate the long commute! This week I was really successful at knocking quite a few more things off my work to do list! Wahoo!
  • The one “panic session” of the week occurred early one morning when I woke up thinking that I hadn’t felt the baby move in a few hours. My doctor has really got me stressed about Kick Counts, so I got up and was frantically trying everything to get the baby to move. I drank cold water, pushed and prodded my stomach, got up and walked around…nothing seemed to work. I ended up calling my mom at 12 am. She obviously thought I was in labor! Ha! Anyways, I decided to call the hospital down the street where I am having my regular NST’s to see what they recommended. The nurse who answered seemed like this wasn’t the first time she had gotten a call of this nature. She said to eat something light, like down in a dark room on my left side and count 10 kicks in an hour. If I didn’t get 10 in an hour, then I should go in to the hospital where I would be delivering to get checked out. I hung up, ate a few apples slices and laid down on my left side with my mom still on the phone. After a few minutes, the baby slowly started waking up and before I knew it I had reached 10 kicks. Everything was fine. Thank you! The one good thing about this late night “scare”…. got The Hubs to finally start packing his bag for when it really is go time! hehe 🙂
One Response to “Week 36”

  1. Amy October 10, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    You look so lovely in this photo! I’m so sorry to hear that the end of your pregnancy has been stressful, but I hope these next few weeks fly by for you!

    I work better from home too, but I only get to do so when there is a snowstorm bad enough for my boss to call a snow day (so, rarely. I haven’t worked from home since like two winters ago). I wish we could set something up where I could be home for a few days a week! Jealous!

Let's Chat!

