Week 35

9 Oct

Week 35 Highlights

  • Got back into blogging (and catching up on these update posts! Almost there – just 2 more to catch up ! Should be done this week!)
  • Went to a breastfeeding class. I’m really worried about being successful at breastfeeding… mostly in dealing with the pain and getting used to the intense suction these babies produce. I hear that I need to give it at least 2 weeks to get used to. I’ m trying to gather as much info as possible, as well as stocking up on ointments, creams, soothies, anything that may help with the pain and get me over the hump. Luckily I have lots of friends who have been successful, so you can be sure I will be calling them incessantly for advice! (You all have been warned!)
  • With 3 more weeks of work, I’ve been working extremely hard to tie up loose ends. My to-do list feels endless!
  • I had my first Biophysical Profile Ultrasound. This is where they look to make sure the u/s tech looks at the babies breathing, muscle tone, heart rate, movement, and amniotic fluid. The nurse assured me that it was routine (especially with mom’s with Gestational Diabetes), although I found out later it was likely because the baby didn’t respond to the NST fast enough. It all went fine though and the baby made a perfect score! (Obviously my baby! hehe :-))
  • This week I was also really starting to try to enjoy the remaining weeks of pregnancy. I was eating more regularly and not worrying so much about my sugar numbers. That was all until…
  • My doctor’s appointment. Typically, everything goes just fine and I’m usually looking forward to the appointment. This week, however, when the doctor measured my fundal height, it was measuring 31 weeks…the same as my last appointment 2 wks ago!  Being 35 weeks, this was of concern to the doctor. It basically could indicate that the baby wasn’t growing and that there could be something wrong with the placenta not providing enough nutrients to the baby. I was DISTRAUGHT, obviously. The doctor did a preliminary ultrasound in the office and to her it looked like the baby was measuring 1.5 wks behind. Not as bad, but her u/s machine is apparently not the most accurate. She recommended I go for a more high tech ultrasound to double check. I kept asking her what the worst case scenario was (not the best thing for me to ask being the worrier I am) and she said that if the baby wasn’t growing and the placenta wasn’t working, we’d have to “take the baby out”. I cried the whole way home. I could barely find even find my way home. I miss my acupuncture appointment. It was horrible!
  • The next morning I called to schedule the higher tech ultrasound as soon as possible. Luckily they could take me, since I didn’t want to spend the whole weekend worrying.  The Hubs went with me in the off chance that something was wrong… We got a REALLY nice u/s tech. As she was doing the u/s she kept reassuring us that the baby looked cozy and healthy. She took the necessary measurements and told us the baby looked to be about 5 lb 3 oz…a little small for 35 weeks gestation, but within the range of error. She did a doppler on the placenta where they look at the blood flow from it to the baby. It also looked like it was working fine. Then because of all of the stress she could tell we were going through, she spent a bunch of time and took lots of pictures of the little one’s face. They were the best pictures were had ever gotten! We think the little one has my nose and The Hubs’s cheeks  (he’s the baby in the last pic)! See for yourself!

  • I didn’t hear from the doctor all weekend (at least that is what I thought). I assumed “no news is good news”. The next day, I noticed a message on our home phone (why the heck can’t these drs call cell phones!). Sure enough, the message was from the doctor saying that the baby was moving 1.5 wks behind, but that they don’t start worrying until the baby is measuring 3 wks behind. Phew! Why she couldn’t have said that at my doctor’s appointment, I don’t know, but I was just thankful that everything looked ok. The plan was to have another ultrasound at 38 weeks to check progress again.

 

2 Responses to “Week 35”

  1. Kristina October 9, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    These week pictures are pretty cool! I can’t believe you measured the same because from week 34 to week 35 (in the picture at least) you look way bigger (don’t worry, a good bigger! :)) Definitely a Fino kind of nose though… 😉

  2. dosomethingamzing October 9, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    I hope I’m as lucky as you Jen! You look amazing!!

Let's Chat!

