Weeks 33 and 34

8 Oct

Weeks 33 Highlights

  • I was debating on whether or not to do maternity pictures, but decided in the end that I might regret it if I didn’t do it.  I think part of my procrastination was in wanting to pick “the right” photographer, ala wedding photography. This basically made me spin in circles never really able to decide on someone. In the end, I went with a friend’s recommendation and my original gut feel choice – Lynda Kennedy Photography. I LOVE the bright colors and nature backdrops she uses in her photos.
  • I’ve been feeling the baby now more than ever! Sometimes it even makes me feel a bit sick, but it is a wonderful reassurance that everything is going ok in there!
  • My feet swelled for the first time. Not terribly, but enough to make my work shoes tight. I think wearing flip flops to work is in my near future!
  • We went to Carmel to celebrate our friend Roger’s 30th birthday. We got to hang out with all the little ones and The Hubs got in some practice.
  • I gave three engineering related talks at the local community college. As always, I had an awesome time doing it, but man… talking and being on my feet all day was SO exhausting! If I thought a work day was exhausting, this was even more so. The enjoyment of doing it though made up for it! 🙂

Week 34 Highlights

  • I went to a local Mother’s Club meeting to try to meet some local moms. I was a little bummed because most of the moms had older kids, but there were a few that were pregnant. The membership fee is relatively inexpensive, so I decided to join. I figured the experienced moms would have lots of great advice on local kid stuff. Plus, it seems like these moms like to have fun, which will come in handy when the little one arrive and I need a night out!
  • I looked at my first two day cares this week. Both were institutional day cares. The first was a quick drop in where the enrollment director gave me a quick tour. I was able to see the infants and caregivers together. I swear that I almost cried the whole time I was in there. I did my best to  ask all the right questions, but my emotions made me forget A LOT of stuff. I just couldn’t see how I was going to be able to leave my little one there! The second day care had an open house where both The Hubs and I were able to talk to the teachers. However, we weren’t able to see the caregivers and infants together in action. In any case, the atmosphere of the 2nd day care made me feel a bit more comfortable, which was good. It also comes highly recommended. I’m planning on going back in a couple of weeks to see the infant room in action.
  • I had my first two non-stress tests at the local hospital. Luckily the nurses are really nice and make me feel comfortable, but it is still a nerve racking experience. I’m hooked up to this machine from any where from 20 to 60 minutes depending on how active baby wants to be.

During one of my sessions, the baby wasn’t reacting as fast as they would have liked, so they gave me some water with ice chips. Can you say addicting? These ice chips are a pregnant ladies’ best friend! So fun to eat! hehe 🙂

  • Things are definitely getting a bit more difficult in the getting around department. It’s getting harder and harder to roll over in bed, get out of bed, and tie my shoes!
  • This week I was also really missing wine and fro yo. Almost there though! Can’t believe it!
One Response to “Weeks 33 and 34”

  1. Kristina October 8, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    yay for catching up on blogging too!! baking and blogging sounds like the perfect combo for your soon to be 2 week pre-maternity leave! 🙂

Let's Chat!

