Weeks 31 and 32

1 Oct

Week 31 Highlights

  • This week we started officially looking and researching SUVs as our official family car. We needed to get something bigger to accommodate both the little one and The Pup.  The Civic and the Camry just weren’t going to cut it. At this point, I had my heart set on a Toyota Highlander and The Hubs was liking either a Jeep Laredo or a Ford Explorer. We didn’t do any test driving, just info gathering. It was a very daunting process considering neither of us has ever purchased a new car by ourselves before. Luckily, we didn’t get any exceptionally pushy salesmen making the day not too painful.
  • Attended a Baby Care class where we learned all about swaddling, clothing, diapering and poop! Although the class was good, I don’t think we’ll really be able to grasp everything until the little one is here. Luckily, the book that came with the class seems like it is a good read.
  • I had a perinatologist appointment this week, which went well, except for the fact that the doctor made a crack about me being on the “pregnancy weight loss” plan since I was down 0.5 lb since the last time I was there. I explained to him that I was eating per the Gestational Diabetes diet and was NOT starving myself. He told me to add carbs to my meals again since my numbers are low most of the time.  I was also allowed to reduce testing my fasting blood sugar since it has never been out of the specified range. One less prick a day? I’ll take it!
  • This week I began feeling the baby make larger movements, but the little one still has active days and quiet days. 

Week 32 Highlights

  • The Hubs and I, along with my parents, went to the first Cal football game of the season at the BRAND NEW Memorial stadium. Let me say… the stadium is BEAUTIFUL! I can’t wait to go to more games next year with The Hubs and the little one! Unfortunately, our Golden Bears were not able to keep up with the University of Nevada – Reno Wolf Pack (congrats T&E), but we all had fun anyways.

  • We looked at more SUVs and narrowed it down to the Toyota Highlander, Ford Explorer and Honda Pilot. The Hubs and I both test drove all through and much to our surprise ended up agreeing that we liked the Pilot best! We were both quite surprise at that, but confident in our decision. Guess I really am a Honda girl at heart! We came home to begin the negotiation process since friends had told us that once we picked a car, it was easier to do all price negotiations at home via email. We did and came home with our brand spankin’ new Pilot on Monday! I’m still getting used to driving it since it is SO much bigger than my Civic, but am not planning on commuting in it to work since the gas mileage is well….not so good. The things we buy for babies and dogs! 🙂

  • I drank my first Starbucks in 4 weeks – Skinny with 2% milk… Sorely disappointed. Definitely didn’t taste the same as my normal Tall Nonfat No Whip 2 Pump Mocha. Guess I’ll have to wait a few more weeks for the real thing.
  • Traffic was HORRIBLE this week. I even cried on the way home one day because my legs were cramping and I just wanted to be home! Another reminder of why working closer to home would make my life SOOO much easier.
  • Had a normal OB appointment this week where I had my first Non-Stress Test. For those who don’t know what that is, basically the baby’s heart rate is tracked for 20-40 minutes until two heartbeat accelerations are recorded. They also monitor to see if I had any contractions. I’m so glad I had my first one at the doctor and not at the hospital (which starts next week) because the varying sounds of the baby’s heartbeat sorta freaked me out. It would go from loud to soft to fast to slow as the baby moved. But all was well and normal! I’m also measuring right on track and the doctor DID NOT give me a hard time about my weight gain! YAY!
2 Responses to “Weeks 31 and 32”

  1. Teresa October 1, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out, I didn’t want to rub it in but… GO PACK! So glad things are going well!

  2. dosomethingamzing October 2, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    Girl, you are all baby!!!! You look great=)

Let's Chat!

