Nursery Quilt – Need Color Inspiration!

26 Jun

Finding gender neutral anything nowadays is definitely a challenge. It’s no different when it comes to finding crib bedding.

I have been looking around for awhile and have been trying to find something that was colorful but not too boyish or girlish. I also did really want a jungle or safari theme since that seems to be extremely common in the world of nurseries.

I’m not very creative though, so looking through all of the inspiration nurseries on Pinterest or the internet is really overwhelming!

I was starting to stress out that I hadn’t made a nursery related decision (other than the color of the walls), so this weekend while at Pottery Barn Kids, I found a quilt that I liked and purchased it. A fitted sheet and crib skirt came in the set so I bought it all. I didn’t buy the bumper even though it too was really cute, since I knew we wouldn’t use it.

Here it is in all its ABC glory…

Image Source: Pottery Barn Kids

The thing I love about it is that whether this little one is a boy or a girl, there is a color in the quilt that we can play up in in the room – say lavender if its a girl or a red if its a boy.

The thing I’m a bit concerned about is all the white. The quilt is mostly white. The crib skirt is mostly white with just a green ribbon on it. The fitted sheet is white with green polka dots. I know this means I can bring in color by adding a rug, curtains and wall art, but it’s a little intimidating. I haven’t seen any inspriation rooms using similar bedding that does the same thing, so I’m trying to come up with things on my own! Difficult for a non-creative person like me.

Here’s what I’ve got so far:

My mother in law already said she’d make curtains, so I need to try to pick fabric for that. I think I want just a valence, either like the one shown in the image below or a faux Roman shade type.

I think I want to do an area of fabric hoop art (ala Oh! Apostrophe’s nursery) where I can bring in color, although again picking fabric is a bit intimidating. (Isn’t the nursery Emily designed adorable and colorful?? Wish I could have been that ambitious with our color scheme!)

Image Source: Oh! Apostrophe

I want to bring in the alphabet theme a bit more, but in a non cheesy way.  I’ve seen those crazy alphabet walls that are super cute, but I think that’s a bit to ambitious for me! I’m also not sure if it would be too modern with such a traditional quilt.

Image Source: Jodi Mckee Photography

So blogging friends, do you have any ideas on how I can bring color into the nursery or have you seen any nursery inspiration using a similar bedding set??

PS – Although we haven’t picked a crib out yet, it’ll likely be espresso colored wood or something similar which will make the white of the bedding stand out more.

PSS – Sorry for the seemingly disjointed post… I’m writing this super quick on my lunch break! 🙂

5 Responses to “Nursery Quilt – Need Color Inspiration!”

  1. Sarah Nicole June 26, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    I like the alphabet wall. If you don’t want it to look too modern just play down the color scheme a bit by using more rustic or muted colors. But your walls are also colored so you really don’t have to get carried away with more colors. I would try to think of “textures” to add that are in the wall and quilt color families.

  2. Sarah Nicole June 26, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    Ps – I see pinstripes and polka dots and animals in the quilt. Maybe try a striped cushion or polka dot valence. Personally, I like Some of the Ikea nursery accessories and textiles. They’re not what everyone else has.

    • Jen June 27, 2012 at 7:53 am #

      Love the mood board you made for me! It’s definitely helping me come up with even more ideas! I’ve got all the materials to make those chalkboard circles (post to come on kitchen chalkboard I made). And I love how you incorporated the old school desk. We needed to find a place for that thing anyways! 🙂

  3. dosomethingamzing June 26, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    I saw this on pinterest…cute for a baby’s name! It is for girls but I’m sure there are some for boys
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/77421181/modern-girls-nursery-art-painted

    • Jen June 27, 2012 at 7:54 am #

      That etsy store has such cute stuff! I’ve bookmarked it so I remember to go back and look at it as the room comes together.

Let's Chat!

