Weekend Festivities and a Non-Update

13 Jun

Wednesday already and no blog posts this week! This is mostly because I was patiently waiting for our doctor’s appointment yesterday to go over the ultrasound results from last week (who would have every thunk that I actually LIKED going to the doctor). However, I got a call around mid-morning saying my appointment had to be rescheduled since their computers were down and the doctor had a patient in labor. I can only hope that I too get that kind of treatment if I go into labor in the middle of the day! We had to end up rescheduling for tomorrow morning, so I should have a full update by weeks end. Overall, we think the ultrasound went fine, but then again those techs aren’t really supposed to tell you anything anyways. Hopefully the little one gets a clean bill of health as far as they can tell tomorrow!

In lieu of an ultrasound update, here are some fun pictures from our weekend in San Luis Obispo for my sister’s graduation!

It started off with some silliness and fake mustaches obtained at a new local flip flop shop (the PERFECT store for SLO!):

The weather the whole weekend was gorgeous, albeit a little windy on graduation day. This ended up being a good thing because it definitely cut into the heat of the morning and afternoon. Those graduation ceremonies can get lengthy!!


The graduation girl and her roommate:

Ceremony (a little blurry, but you get the picture):

During the ceremony, I totally thought I felt the baby move. We were right in front of the speakers which were quite loud, so I thought maybe that had something to do with it. It felt like a weird drumming on the inside (not the bubbles or butterfly wings it has often been described as). In any case, I noted it, but didn’t get too excited about it.  Update: Since then, I have felt it EVEN MORE, so I’M SURE it is the baby. It’s sort of a weird feeling and I swear it is happening all the time (does this baby sleep??).  I guess I’m going to have to get used to it! Definitely makes things more real and starts bringing up the “how I’m going to parent this baby” anxiety!

Here’s a couple pics of The Hubs and I. I borrowed the dress from one of my besties. SO SO NICE to have had friends pregnant just before me so I can borrow their clothes!

We still need to perfect the hands on belly shot! This looks sorta silly!

The weekend was lots of fun, but somewhat bittersweet. We’ve been traveling to SLO regularly for the last 12 years since The Hubs, my sister, and I  have all been going to school there. Now we really have no reason to go back except for leisure. This must have been what my dad experienced back in the day. It took him 20+ years to get back to SLO regularly when we started going to school there  (we’d go every once and awhile as kids to Poly Royal, aka Open House) . Then he was able to see two daughters graduate from his alma mater! Hopefully we can be so lucky!

Maybe this will entice the little one (hopefully a nice auntie will bring it back!):

One Response to “Weekend Festivities and a Non-Update”

  1. Shayla @ The Good Life June 13, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

    What a fun day!! And love the baby bump!!!! You look so gorgeous and that dress is perfect on you – I hope we get more weekly updates and bump pics – love it 🙂

Let's Chat!

