Weeks 13-15

6 Jun

** Written on May 3 **

I need to get better about writing weekly so I don’t forget what happens each week! Luckily, I’m jotting some notes down in my nifty little One Line a Day book in order to help me remember!

Week 13 started off with one of my best friend’s  unexpectedly (although subliminally she knew…) going into labor 4 weeks early! Both her and the little one are both fine and thriving, but it was kind of a shock. We work together and I had seen her at work and talked to her through text all night and nothing had happened. By  morning she had a little boy named Evan! Now, my two besties have babies that are only one week apart in age, since my other best friend had a baby last week! Here are the two cuties (images shamefully stolen from my besties! Follow their blogs for even MORE cute pics: One Ring Short of a Circus & Ballou Blog):

Cid

Evan

The next day we got to go the doctor again for another appointment. Luckily this time my blood pressure was right on target so I no longer have to take it periodically to make sure it’s not high. Turns out I have a case of “white coat” hypertension. Sounds about right for a worrywart like me. Everything seemed right on track! We even got to do another ultrasound and get images of the baby in its “gummy bear” stage. It was pretty amazing! Both The Hubs and I were shocked at the amount of movement that was going on in there! The little one was drumming away like crazy! At our next appointment at 16 weeks, we probably won’t get to see the little one (since the BIG ultrasound will be between 18-20 weeks), but we should be able to hear the heartbeat for the first time. We still haven’t heard it, just seen it.

I told my boss I was pregnant and got pretty much the reaction I was expecting, which was nothing… I guess we’ll talk more about leave and stuff once it gets closer. I thought he would be a little more supportive by telling me to make sure I take it easy, but no such luck. Work has been really difficult lately since I’m stuck in the lab all day without access to food or drink. I also have been bad about getting to lunch on time since the people I work with like to work as long as possible. It’s pretty frustrating.

Week 14 I had a headache that lingered for a couple of days. It wasn’t terrible, but annoying and I didn’t want to take anything for it.  The only other exciting news this week is that the cat got let out of the bag at work. EVERYONE knows! For the most part I didn’t have to do the telling. One person told another who told another. Many of them said that they thought I was pregnant (guess I looked fat!). It was a little awkward being the center of attention, but after a day of that, the excitement subsided! I’m still not advertising on Facebook or anything. I think that’s a little weird. I also worry since I know a lot of people who are struggling with infertility and don’t want to make others feel bad if I don’t have to. I’ve been there so I know how it is… (Update: Still at 20 wks I haven’t advertised on Facebook and I’m trying to keep it that way as long as possible. 🙂 )

Week 15 brought about a lot of “nesting”. I decided I wanted to paint the living room and dining room of our house since it was looking pretty bad. My mother in law and dad came over to help which was great, but it was still a ton of work. Lots of taping molding and standing up and down. I was exhausted!

The Hubs, who decided to get ambitious, bought some paint samples for the baby’s room. He put them up and we (miraculously) agreed on what we wanted to do…three blue walls and one green wall.  We figured with colors like these we could add pink accents if its a girl or more blues/greens if its a boy. Since we aren’t sure if we are going to find out at the anatomy scan, we are going to try to keep things as gender neutral as possible. After picking the colors, The Hubs had at it and painted the whole room. We actually really like it and love how the lighter color (instead of they grey it was before) made the room so much brighter!

I also took my first prenatal yoga class this week with my “Yoga for Fertility” teacher. I was worried I would be the least pregnant one there, but I wasn’t! I really enjoyed it and can’t wait to make going twice a week a regular routine.

Overall, I’ve been feeling pretty good. The tiredness seems to have subsided for the most part. There have been some days when I feel SUPER big, but when I weigh myself everything looks to be on track. I did get some pain in my lower pelvis area a few days, but after begin worried for a second and consulting with friends and Dr. Google, I decided it was just related to ligaments stretching! Gotta make room!

Now that more people are finding out, it is definitely becoming more real (which is a good thing) and I’m more optimistic that things are going to continue going smoothly. Definitely excited for the next doctor’s appoint though (never thought I would hear myself say that!!)

Here are some belly pics (minus week 13 which I missed!):

**Almost caught up with the updates!!** 🙂

3 Responses to “Weeks 13-15”

  1. Sarah Nicole June 6, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    Cute! You look pregnant NOT fat! Seriously. And just because your boss didn’t affirm, you should STILL take it easy.

  2. henatayeb June 6, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    Cute babies! I love what you are doing with the numbers for your weeks.. I will have to remember that next time. I have that journal.. One Line A Day.. I love it..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nursery Quilt – Need Color Inspiration! « Living a Brighter Life - June 26, 2012

    […] was starting to stress out that I hadn’t made a nursery related decision (other than the color of the walls), so this weekend while at Pottery Barn Kids, I found a quilt that I liked and purchased it. A […]

Let's Chat!

