Weeks 9 (redo) – 12

4 Jun

** Written on April 17th**

So I stopped being good about the weekly updates. I think it was partly just being busy, partly me being gun shy about doing anything pregnancy related. This meant not liking to talk about it, not reading any books about it, etc. Totally different than I thought I would be!

On March 2oth, we went to the doctor for our first appointment. I was obviously anxious (which always happens when I go to the doctor) and it caused my blood pressure to be high (also quite normal when I’m at the doctor). Because I’m pregnant though, the doctor wanted me to take my blood pressure myself over the next few weeks to make sure it wasn’t a trend. Most of the appointment was filled with discussion, most of which I found depressing. We discussed all the things that could go wrong and all the different things that we can test for. I was pretty adamant about not getting any testing since I wouldn’t abort anyways (and didn’t want needless worry in the case of a false positive), but The Hubs wasn’t convinced.  We ended up deciding not to do the testing. I didn’t want to be armed with any knowledge we weren’t prepared to deal with. The appointment ended with us getting to see the little one on the screen. It was nerve wracking for a minute (one or two, one or two, whew, just one!) and got to see the heartbeat. I thought maybe this would make it all more real, but it really didn’t. The doctor did put me at 8 weeks 4 days (hence the Week 9 redeux). I sorta figured this based on the minimal charting I did.

Over these past few weeks, I’ve still had some food aversions and all in all felt like I wasn’t eating as healthy as I should. I’ve been worried about weight gain, even though I don’t feel like I’m eating any more than I normally did.  I’ m hoping things will change as I enter the second trimester!

I’ve had a few nights where I couldn’t sleep at all. I’ve felt sorta achy or just heavy in general (which is crazy since I know I haven’t seen anything yet!). Intimacy with The Hubs has been fairly nonexistent since I’m paranoid about doing anything to cause spotting. I know he’s frustrated and I’m frustrated, so hopefully this also changes in the 2nd Tri.

I had a couple of times during Week 10 where I was so worried I was having a silent miscarriage. I had some random light brown spotting a couple of times. One of those times was after a light workout so I basically stopped working out. This obiviously doesn’t help with controlling weight gain. Hopefully at my next doctor’s appointment at 12 Weeks, 4 days, I’ll be reassured that everything is A-OK and I can resume my previously scheduled workouts.

I’m almost in need of buying or borrowing new clothes. My boobs are way larger than they used to be (perk!) so my small tank tops are not working. I can sometimes button 2 pairs of jeans I have, but find after lunch or dinner that the button HAS to come loose. I’ve resolved myself to using the BeBand so I can keep using my pants, but I hate the little bump it leaves where the button is… I also don’t have many long shirts, so I’m constantly worried someone will see it!

Now at Week 12, I’m finally feeling like this could be real (hopefully to be confirmed and made even more confident and my doctor’s appointment today!). I started telling people at one of my best friend’s baby shower and one person at work which makes me feel a little bit liberated. After this doctor’s appointment, I think I’ll be ready to tell my boss and others (although I’m not sure if I’m quite ready to advertise on Facebook and such.)

I’ve been continuing acupuncture on a weekly basis which has been great (even though expensive). It’s great to go in and get reassurance that my heartbeat and tongue still “look pregnant”. Soon, I’ll be cutting down to every other week which is going to also be good since it will be one less day a week I have to wake up at the butt crack of dawn to get to work!

I started taking weekly pictures, but think I look hideous in them so I’m not sure about posting them on the internets. All the other weekly pictures I see, the ladies look so cute. I just feel gross and ugly. Maybe it’s because I’m not primping up for them (which I may do in the future!), but they just seem awkward. Also, the painted numbers for the weeks that I was so excited about doing didn’t exactly turn out as planned. Oh well, cest la vie – here you go…

9 Weeks

10 Weeks

11 Weeks

12 Weeks

I think that’s it for now, well at least all I can remember off the top of my head about the last few weeks! Hopefully now, I’ll feel more comfortable making weekly updates!

One Response to “Weeks 9 (redo) – 12”

  1. dosomethingamzing June 4, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    awww you look sooo cute!!! Don’t be so mean to my friend=) You look beautiful!! AND you’re lucky…all baby! Target has had some great deals on maternity clothes that are affordable and CUTE! Also TJ Max and Marshals have great deals on clothes too=)

Let's Chat!

