Here I Am!!

16 May

Wow! Has it been almost 4 months since my last post??? I can’t believe it!

Things have been so crazy busy with life and work that blogging sorta slipped by the way side. I will say that I have at least a few posts in draft form that are pretty much done, so I hope to be posting on a more regular basis when I can.

Here’s what you’ve missed (which hasn’t been much, but that doesn’t make it insignificant!):

The Hubs and I went to Vegas the last weekend in January. It was our big trip to see Garth Brooks and Brad Paisley! I’m proud to say that I made it through both flights with less anxiety than I’ve had in the past, although I must admit I had to take 1 Xanax on the return flight home.

We really had a great time! We had friends who were also in Vegas that weekend so we hung out with them some of the time as well. We stayed at the Mirage, which was my first time. I really liked it and think it will be my Vegas hotel of choice from now on! It is really nice without feeling stuffy and there are lots of great options for food right there. It was all decked out for Chinese New Year which made the lobby area really beautiful!

We did some walking down the strip…

And hanging out…

Our first big outing was to see Garth Brooks. Garth was absolutely positively amazing. TOTALLY work the $250 / person tickets. It was just him and his guitar. He sounded just like a record. The Hubs and I kept turning to each other commenting on how awesome it was the entire time! We vowed that if there were ever an artist like Garth that is someone we truly LOVE, we WILL spend the extra money and get good tickets. It was so worth it! We could’t take pictures, but I snuck a quick one so you get the gist of what we saw (minus Garth!).

The next day, our friends wanted to go see the Pawn Stars shop. I had never seen the show, but figured I could at least say I’d been there. The line to get in was super long, but once inside there was a lot of cool stuff to look at.

We went to the Minus 5 Bar which was a cool experience! We took some really cute pictures in our parkas and taking shots off of a ski, but I was too lazy and forgot to purchase them online!

The Brad Paisley concert was Saturday night at Mandalay Bay – all the way on the other side of the strip. It took us FOREVER to walk there and the monorail was NOT convenient either. We finally made it there in time to see The Band Perry (who was just ok live) and Scotty McCreery (who was pretty good) open.  Brad Paisley put on a great show (although our standards were set crazy high from the Garth concert the night before). He definitely was worth it though! His concert reminded me of a Keith Urban concert, which I always think is a fun concert to attend. We really enjoyed hearing all of our favorite songs, including “Then”, our first dance song!

The last day brought about a little more excitement… While walking from the elevators toward the lobby at 7:30am, I saw this blond girl in a mini dress with white slippers walking (well more like stumbling) toward the elevator bay with a guy. I looked at the girl and said to The Hubs under my breath, “Was that Paris Hilton??”. The girl must of heard me because the next thing I know she turned around and says to me, “Yes it is!”. I was so excited to have a celebrity encounter, even if it was only a split second!

We SO enjoyed our Vegas trip and hoped to go back really soon (especially to see and hang out by the Mirage pool when it was actually full), but we had another big event happen in our lives just a few weeks later:

Holy crap! Can you believe it? We’re pregnant! I’ve got a whole bunch of drafts to finish up our TTC story and then the start of our pregnancy story.

So stay tuned (unless of course pregnancy stuff makes you cringe or sad… I can totally relate and totally understand!).

5 Responses to “Here I Am!!”

  1. michellemgd May 16, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    YAY!!!! I was wondering if something was causing your blogging break other than the usual busy schedule stuff. I’m so happy for you!!! That yoga worked! 🙂

  2. Shayla @ The Good Life May 16, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    AHHHH I knew it I knew it!!!!!! I saw in my reader you posted and I instantly scolled down to the bottom of the post to see if you were announcing your pregnant….and you are!!!! YIPEEEE!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! So so happy for you girl!!! I’m starting my 3rd round of Clomid soon…first I need a withdrawl bleed from Provera which I’m starting tomorrow. Gosh this journey is so so very tough and after two negatives, it’s hard to keep hopeful but now seeing your great news it gives me hope!! I can’t wait to read your TTC journey – and if you have any other helpful info for me please email me – I’d greatly appreciate it and could use all the help I can get 🙂 I’m over the moon so happy for you girl…I just realized you’re the 3rd person I know that’s had infertility struggles that’s gotten pregnant this past week…so awesome 🙂 xoxo

  3. Lauren May 16, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    Congratulations Jen!! That is great news. I hope you’re feeling good and enjoying your pregnancy!

  4. dosomethingamzing May 16, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    Cat’s out of the bag!=) So exciting!!!

  5. Sarah Nicole May 19, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    Finally a post! Felt like I was all alone out here. Kept waiting for a post from you. Oh and Yay! For you guys ,even though I already knew, but still excited and hoping you’ll find out the gender so we can either start planning our team jerseys or work on the boys’ lady skills 😉

Let's Chat!

