TTC: Clomid Round 2 ::DING DING::

24 Jan

Clomid Round 2: 5x50mg starting October 12, 2011

After our first unsuccessful round of Clomid, we started the whole process again.

Five magic pills, ovulation predictor kits, timed intercourse, waiting for the temperature shift…

I was SURE that this time would be similar to the first and so I anticipated ovulation happening later than expected and made SURE to be diligent about timing things. Not exactly the most romantic of prospects, but apparently necessary if you want to make a baby.  It definitely is NOT like 16 and Pregnant where these girls get pregnant after their first time having sex! Maybe I can chalk it up to my super advanced age of 29!

I kept waiting and waiting to see that tell tale temperature shift which I knew was possible since it happened once before. Things should be more predictable the second time around…right???

WRONG!

After 58 days of up and down temperatures that looked more like the Dow Jones than a fertility tracking method, I resolved myself to the fact that ovulation did NOT happen this time around.

I saw my doctor again and showed her all of the data I had collected over the past few months. I told her I didn’t understand why things were working the way they should. I asked her if I should be being more aggressive about the trying to conceive process and schedule an appointment with a Reproductive Endocrinologist (RE) (a doctor who specializes in advanced fertility techniques).

She told me that although she would refer me to an RE, she believed we should try one more cycle of Clomid, this time a higher dosage. She was concerned that moving to the next step of a seeing an RE was  putting our trying to conceive process into a whole new ball game that based on my age and history of trying wasn’t necessary quite yet (and based on my history of anxiety might to more harm then good at this stage). She did say that if the next cycle didn’t work, we would not hesitate to take the next steps.

I had started to hope that just maybe things would work out this time, just to have those hopes dashed again!

So off I went with a prescription for Progesterone (to induce a cycle) and another for 5×100 mg of Clomid wondering why it had to be so darn hard to get knocked up!

6 Responses to “TTC: Clomid Round 2 ::DING DING::”

  1. Michelle January 24, 2012 at 8:57 am #

    Are you being given ultrasounds while on clomid? The only dose I ever took gave me cysts and I had to wait a cycle to try anything again. I’ve heard not all OB’s do that and all RE’s do u/s while clients are taking those meds.

    I hope you get the answers you need and from my experience, meeting with an RE is amazing. You make a plan, get proper tests done, etc. They know what they are doing and can really make things clear for you. Best of luck!

    • Jen January 24, 2012 at 9:02 am #

      Yea, no ultrasounds yet…. I know I really need to go see an RE, but none of it is covered for me insurance wise. I was trying to do everything as low tech as possible since my OB has had success with going the low tech route. We’re taking a break this month to get The Hubs tested and decide if we want to go see the RE right away for the next cycle.

  2. Carly January 24, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    As you know, clomid and I aren’t friends. Like Michelle, I developed cysts. This was from taking one 100mg dose. ONE. Best of luck with your next steps! This process can be so frustrating. We don’t have any infertility insurance coverage, either, and it’s a huge financial strain.

  3. Shayla @ The Good Life January 24, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    Ugh I’m so sorry Jen – this is such a long, hard journey and I commend you for sharing your experiences here with us. Clomid is so testy and only works really well for some – it especially doesn’t work that well if you have Hypothalamic Amenorrhea…I can’t remember if you have that or not? Did you check out the forum from the link I posted awhile back? http://www.fertilethoughts.com/forums/lifes-journey/343535-hypothalamic-amenorrhea.html

    Even if you don’t have HA, the ladies on there are so so very knowledgeable about Clomid and certain protocols you should be trying for success 🙂 As you know I’m still trying to just get a period with lifestyle changes…ugh, such a long hard journey…why didn’t I appreciate my timely menstrual cycles when I was a teenager, lol!

  4. Shayla @ The Good Life March 19, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

    Hey girl!! I’ve been thinking about you and wondering if everything is ok? Email me if you need to chat – I need to write a post soon as I now have a hormonal type of PCOS and my Hypothalamic Amenorrhea was masking it. And now that I’ve recovered from HA with my lifestyle changes (weight gain and reduced exercising) I finally responded to Provera and will be starting Clomid this Thursday! Praying it works and let me know how you’re doing… 🙂

  5. Melodee April 20, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite sure I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

Let's Chat!

