New Grown Up Room!

20 Jan

The Hubs and I have been interested for awhile in getting a new bedroom set for our room. We were using a mish mash of items including my old dresser, two old style desks acting as nightstands and NO headboard. 

I was a bit concerned about getting new stuff because I wasn’t sure how all of the furniture would fit in our room. I didn’t want the room to appear smaller than it already was.

The Hubs, however, who is usually not THAT into buying new things for the house, had seemed pretty anxious about getting a new bedroom set. When we went to Ikea to buy our media stand, we had found a bedroom set that we liked, but I was a bit apprehensive to buy it. It was our first time buying Ikea furniture and I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I mean, these pieces are SO cheap, maybe they aren’t any good!

But after a month or so with our new media stand, which we fell in LOVE with, last weekend The Hubs wanted to go back to Ikea and seriously look at the bedroom set again.

So we went and looked and found that we were still drawn to the Hemnes bedroom series in black/brown. We started deciding on the pieces we would like to get (including one item that we wanted to use for the front room). The Hubs was ready to buy, but we hadn’t brought a truck and we hadn’t taken measurements, so being the voice of reason, I said we should wait.

We ended up waiting the one hour it took to drive home, double check measurements and pick up the truck.

We came home $900 poorer, but with a new headboard, an 8 drawer dresser, two nightstands (with drawers), and a nightstand to use in the living room. Not too shabby!

We were both excited about putting everything together, so we started right away upon returning home (and continued until the wee hours of the morning – i.e 1:00 am). We had such an awesome time helping each other assemble everything and see our new “grown-up” room take shape. We were definitely experts at putting together Ikea drawers by the end!

Here are some pictures of us during the building process and the finished products!

Love, love love this little shelf in the top drawer of my nightstand. I LOVE having a nightstand with drawers! Also, isn’t the interior lining so cute! (The Hubs doesn’t like it so much, but I think it is fun!). I think we may get another one of these little nightstands with drawers to put our TV stuff on. The extra drawer space will also be nice!

We bought some drawer organizers for our new dresser (which I didn’t take a picture of), but come in really handy for organizing socks and things. I’m also excited about putting some fun accent decoration pieces on top of the dresser and possibly a mirror.

And the final piece… a new stand for the living room where we can store remotes and such. Our old one was purchased by my grandpa at a garage sale, so it was ready to go. We were able to buy knobs to put on the little drawer that matched our media stand so it looks like it is all from one set, although it isn’t!

So, tell me, do you all love Ikea as much as I do? I’m a total convert! 🙂

8 Responses to “New Grown Up Room!”

  1. Tonya January 20, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    Looks nice! I love hardwood floors. I kind of have a love/hate relationship with it. I’m almost at the point where I want to move past Ikea furniture into more “sophisticated” stuff…but who am I kidding…Ikea is just so affordable. It doesn’t always stand the test of time though.

  2. Shayla @ The Good Life January 20, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    Beautiful beautiful room!!! And yes, I too am a total Ikea junkie – I could shop in there for hours on end, just wished it wasn’t always such a madhouse!!

    Where is your bedding from? Love it! We’re looking for a new one since we’re due for one…we currently have the light blue one from Restoration Hardware and it is so dirty and gross looking now…never again am I buying light colored bedding! Love that yours is dark 🙂

    • Jen January 20, 2012 at 11:44 am #

      Our bedding was called Skyscraper from The Hotel Collection at Macys. I think its funny that you want a darker bedspread because I always think the dark bedspread makes the room look darker, so I’ve been thinking of getting a lighter one. Although I can definitely see how it would get dirty QUICK especially w/ The Pup around. I’ve been trying to think of other ways to lighten up the room with pops of color, but haven’t been too successful yet!

      • Shayla @ The Good Life January 23, 2012 at 10:28 am #

        Haha I definitely recommend keeping your bedding dark and finding other ways to add pops of color to lighten up your room (hmmm I bet Pinterest has some inspiration ideas?!) – in fact hubby last night just spilled tea on our bedspread, lol! The stains on our light bedspread is ridiculous! 😛

        Thank you for letting me know where your bedding is from – Macy’s has the best collections and I’ll have to check it out!

  3. Sarah Nicole January 20, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    Looks good! I really want a new headboard or bedframe but a cal king is so expensive!

  4. Allison January 31, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    Your room looks great! And I totally love Ikea. Apart from the furniture that was handed down to us, I think everything in our apartment came from Ikea. It’s just so affordable and functional. Plus, they have amazing book cases that don’t break the bank, and we need lots of those. BTW, is that a Cal throw on your bed? Maybe I’m seeing things, but it kind of looks like one, and if it is, that is awesome!

    • Jen January 31, 2012 at 11:20 am #

      Your eyes are not tricking you! That is a Cal throw! My mother in law made it for us for Christmas so that we could use it when we go to football games in the fall. For now, it’s home is our bed since the fleece is just perfect for keeping us warm during the night!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Grown Up Room – Completed! « Living a Brighter Life - September 19, 2012

    […] back in January, we had bought furniture that seemed to really start to bring the room […]

Let's Chat!

