Kindle Reads – “Living Your Yoga” – Part 1b

18 Jan

Image Source: Drew Avery

 

You can find the introduction to this series of posts here.

The final three qualities of finding more awareness in your own life by “Living Your Yoga” are described here.

Faith Practice

This section discusses the importance of having faith – faith in yourself and faith that things will work out as they should.  My faith definitely wavers especially when things don’t work out the way that I expect them to. A quote that really spoke to me on this concept was “belief is a preconception about the way reality should be; faith is the willingness to experience reality as it is, including the acceptance of the unknown.” This one sentence pretty much sums up how I would like to live, although most of the time my preconceptions get in the way. To practice faith, we have to make decisions in connection with our hearts. My favorite mantra from this section was “I have the courage to act from my heart and the compassion to stay open.”

Perspective Practice

This section calls each of us to broaden our perspective and to explore other points of view. Wisdom is really just the clarity of perspective, stepping back and seeing the big picture. You know they say hindsight is 20/20, but perhaps if we are willing to look through a different lens, we can really see what is important and what is not, we can avoid pitfalls or curb negative reactions we may have.  “Your life is as it is. How you feel about your life is up to you.” Ways to practice perspective are to cultivate gratitude (which I’ve been trying to do weekly in Thankful Thursday posts) and to purposefully make a point to look at a situation from a different perspective. My favorite mantra from this section was “It won’t be this way forever.

Courage Practice

According to Judith Lasater, she believe that next to love, courage is the second most important quality to cultivate.  It is knowing when to ask for help, listening to your heart.  To strengthen your courage, practice a yoga pose that you are afraid of. For me that might be a backbend or flipping over from a three legged dog. I can take small steps to work towards each of these poses, having compassion with myself at however far I can get. I need to not do something just because it is scary, “the point is to choose to do what is possible in the face of fear. That choice defines courage. And with it comes a sense of freedom.” My favorite mantra from this section, “Letting go of what I cannot change celebrates my courage.” 

Do you feel that you live your life in awareness?

What areas do you think you can work on on a daily basis?

**All quotes from Living Your Yoga – Finding the Spiritual in Everyday Life by Judith Lasater **

2 Responses to “Kindle Reads – “Living Your Yoga” – Part 1b”

  1. Tonya January 19, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    I feel like I’m a pretty self-aware person, but as far as what I need to work on daily…wow it feels like so much. Because I too have a hard time having faith that things will always work out how they should. Especially with my career. When do you step on the gas and really try to make things happen vs “letting things go?” It’s a hard balance. What I do know is I need to stop future-tripping. Assuming something might be bad when it hasn’t even happened, like this upcoming work trip I’m taking to Orlando. I already assume I’m going to be stressed and I haven’t even left yet. So I need to SLOW DOWN for sure!

    • Jen January 20, 2012 at 6:26 am #

      Oh man! I can totally relate to future tripping! I often will keep replaying scenarios in my head over and over that haven’t yet happened and most of the time, they are NOT positive! It is such a vicious cycle! Letting go is something that I really need to do, but find it SO SO difficult. I just need to keep working on it day by day.

Let's Chat!

