Crap Week and It’s only Wednesday

11 Jan

This week has been less then stellar. You’ll probably see the remnants of it on the blog sometime in the future, but I’m blogging about this part of my life in somewhat of an order so it will come in time… 

I’ve been trying to think about the posts where I write to all of you about staying positive, living in the present moment, and trying not to worry about the future and things I can’t control. I need to be appreciative of the things I have and not the things I have not. I need to stop comparing myself to others and try to match what they are doing step for step. There are things I can’t control and thus things can’t move at the pace I want them to move at, but again I CAN”T CONTROL IT! I’m not sure how to get that through my thick skull!

The culmination of it all was when The Pup decided that he wanted my freshly made pulled pork sandwich last night more than I did. It was the last straw! The Hubs came to the rescue though with pizza and wine, the perfect combo!56

Lucky for me, I think I’ve cried all the tears I can muster for one week in the last two days, so I’m hoping to give my eyes a break over the next few days and then fully enjoy the unseasonable warm weather we are sure to have in the Bay this weekend.

I am excited about a planning meeting I have tonight about a high school mentorship program called ACE. The program is all about  getting high school students interested in Architecture, Construction & Engineering. Although I’m not technically in the construction field (the types of engineering that this organization is promoting), I love talking and working with students so I think it is going to be a fun few months. In other news, I’ve convinced The Hubs, who does work in the ACE fields, to mentor with me! I think it will be a fun bonding experience! I really hope he enjoys it! 🙂 At least it’s something to look forward too and take my mind off other things!

In other news, I’m really super excited about the new lunch bag I got at Costco over the weekend! It so colorful and keeps my food nice and cold without having to put in the fridge. Oh and it comes with a cute little case to carry silverware in. It’s amazing how a new lunch bag makes me excited about packing my lunch and it’s kept me diligent in bringing silverware to work (which is better for the environment!).

Isn’t it cute!!

Hope you all are having a better week than I am (although that isn’t saying much!) 🙂

5 Responses to “Crap Week and It’s only Wednesday”

  1. kimberly michelle (@kim_michelle) January 11, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    That’s a lunch bag??? That is FABULOUS! I love it! especially the little silverwear bag! (says the girl who eats EVERYTHING with a spoon)

    and big hugs once again… so happy that you have this space here…

    • Jen January 11, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

      Thanks again Kim! And YES! It is so a lunch bag!! A Rachael Ray lunch bag that was $16 at Costco, in fact. They had a couple of different prints, but I love this one because it was so colorful!

      I’m also so glad to have this space (in part to inspirations bloggers such as yourself since I likely wouldn’t have started this space without you all!), as well and online friends like you! 🙂

  2. Shayla @ The Good Life January 11, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    Jen so sorry to hear about your crappy week…I too have had a heck of a couple weeks since the start of the New Year. Work has been rough and crazy busy, thus no blog posts lately. I too feel like I’m stuck between a rock and a hard place when I try to be positive on the blog but some days I just can’t be!!! Thus the break 😉

    Although I’m hoping to get out all my thoughts in a post tomorrow, like you, it feels good to let it out and I’m thinking I need to. And I’m so glad you let it out here, it’s refreshing to hear the realness and honesty in people’s lives. Hoping your weeks turns around after today and many hugs and good thoughts are sent to you!! xo

    • Jen January 12, 2012 at 10:33 am #

      Thanks so much for the kind words Shayla. It definitely has been a rough week and although I’m really trying to turn it around, so far I haven’t been that successful.

      It does help some to let it out as opposed to keeping it bottled in, so it’s nice to have this outlet.

      I hope things turn around for you too! I guess for now though, we should just both enjoy the beautiful weather we have been having! 🙂

      • Shayla @ The Good Life January 12, 2012 at 11:15 am #

        Oh my goodness yes! I actually tweeted earlier how thankful I am for this weather during the dull-drum month of January….definitely helps lifts my spirits! Again, I hope today gets better for you and thankfully it’s almost TGIF! And I’m always here for you if you need someone to vent to 🙂

Let's Chat!

