TTC: The Back Story + Clomid Round 1 ::DING DING::

10 Jan

**Much of this was written in early October 2011.**

So I’ve been reading some awesome TTC (“trying to conceive” for those of you not familiar with the lingo!) blogs for the past few months that have been really helpful to me throughout our road to baby so far. I love reading other women’s experiences with fertility and pregnancy and thought that maybe someone could relate to our journey. I also thought it would be a way to look back and appreciate how are journey has evolved regardless of the outcome.

Aside 1: If this ends up being TMI for some of you, you can just skip over these posts! 🙂

Aside 2: My journey is no where near as long or tumultuous as some of my blogger friends, so I apologize in advance if I’m prematurely worrying about my TTC future. Premature stressing is just my nature.

Our journey began in January, when I decided to officially go off the Pill. I knew that when I did  I would likely experience an irregular or non-existent cycle, but I tried to think positive that maybe this time would be different. You see, I’d gone of the Pill once before a few years back and had a no cycle for 6 months before going to the doctor. After blood work and an ultrasound, it was determined that some of my symptoms (but not all), lined up with Polycystic Ovarian Sydnrome (PCOS). My doctor put me back on the pill to regulate me since at the time I wasn’t ready to TTC.

Fast forward 8 months after going off the pill the second time and I still had not had a period. Definitely strange and not normal. I went to my OB/GYN and had a round of bloodwork again to confirm that my hormones were out of whack (obviously…LH and Testosterone both high). So she prescribed enough Clomid (an ovulation stimulating drug) for two cycles and was extremely optimistic that it would work. She told me to take the five “magic” pills, one a day, and then do the BD (i.e. baby dance) every other day for seven days, at which point ovulation should occur. (Romantic eh??) She also told me to use an ovulation predictor kit (OPK) and basal body temperature (BBT) to confirm whether or not ovulation occurs.

Clomid Round 1: 5x50mg starting September 13, 2011

I followed the instructions the doctor gave me to a T and to be honest, I could not tell if any of it was working. My OPK tests were constantly positive (apparently a result of PCOS) and my BBT wasn’t exhibiting the tell tale sign of an increase in temperature. The Negative Nelly in me was looking at all the reasons the drug wasn’t working…no weird side effects like nausea or hot flashes.  I thought I felt some cramping in my lower stomach, but I wasn’t sure if it was anything worth noting.

And then, right about the time of the cramping, I finally saw it… a temperature shift just like Taking Charge of Your Fertility (a highly recommended book for anyone trying to conceive) said it would happen! For the first time, my BBT chart looked… normal! Unfortunately, I hadn’t been as diligent about timing things because I had resolved this cycle to a failure. We did  do the BD once around that time so I figured we would just have to wait and see. I told myself that if I did not get pregnant this cycle, but if I KNEW that the Clomid actually made me ovulate, that it would be a step in the right direction.

In the end, I didn’t get pregnant on the first cycle, but Aunt Flo did arrive (a feat in my book!). I’m thinking positive about the situation since it means I actually ovulated (wahoo!) and that I get to have a few glasses of well deserved wine over the next few days! Then, it’s on to Clomid – Round 2.

In the meantime, I’ve been spending my online time reading two blogs that were recommended to me by a a blog friend, Shayla. And let me tell you, reading the stories of Jen at The Runner’s Trials and Sarah at The Shubox have seriously lifted my spirits. It’s so nice to read positive stories with a happy outcome!  Here’s to hoping one day soon I can join their club!

For those of you with children, did your road to baby get off to a rocky start?

5 Responses to “TTC: The Back Story + Clomid Round 1 ::DING DING::”

  1. Shayla @ The Good Life January 10, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    Jen, I can’t tell you enough how happy and proud of you I am for sharing your story, and I know you’re helping so many other women out there in sharing this. It’s a rough journey but I’ve learned so much about myself in going through this and have met so many fantastic women such as yourself and am so thankful to have such amazing support from you and the others. I too am so inspired by Jen and Sarah’s stories, I often re-read their posts to get inspiration and hope when I’m feeling down in this journey. It sounds like you are making such great progress and congrats on AF and a possible O! That is a huge step in the right direction and I really hope the best for you and am hoping that this is our year!!! 🙂 P.S. Thanks so much for the shout out my friend! xoxo

    • Jen January 10, 2012 at 10:18 am #

      Thanks Shayla! Hopefully it helps others and isn’t TMI! 🙂

      • Shayla @ The Good Life January 10, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

        No not too TMI at all!!! In this case, the more the better, and I speak for a lot of women in that it’s best to know all the details! 😉

  2. jennmarie6 January 18, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    It took me about 8 months of TTC before I was ready to start talking publicly about it — and boy am I glad that I did! i found that not only was it helpful for me, but I was able to find others and connect (much like you!) and give me hope and support.

    And I was amazed at how many people don’t talk about it. How many people keep it hidden, like a failing struggle we don’t want to talk about. Why would we want to publicly advertise the things we can’t do? The things we’re having trouble with? Practicing humility, I realized that since pregnancy and motherhood takes all dignity from you anyway, why not allow TTC to break you in a bit, right?

    And no time in TTC is too early to start feelign worried. I remember how concerned I was after the first month. The FIRST month! HA! I really had no idea… and after reading so many great books and getting involved in so many great forums online (I love my pink pad app!) I feel much more confidence and more secure in this journey. Hormonal and all, It’s a journey I’m happy to be on … I’ll be even happier to be doen with this journey, but I’m thankful for the support I have along the way!

    Fx and lots of baby dust to you and DH!!! I hope you get that BFP soon :0) 2012 is going to be our year!!!

    • Jen January 18, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

      Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments on my TTC posts! I’m so glad to have connected with you over our shared TTC struggles. I really hope 2012 is filled with baby dust for both of us!

Let's Chat!

