“Adventures in the Kitchen” – Brussels Sprouts Mania!

5 Jan

You know how when you are a kid, it’s like brussels sprouts are the enemy??

Well, my family never had brussels sprouts, so I never really had that all encompassing fear of them. Well, maybe I did vicariously through what I saw in TV and movies…

So, my first experience with brussels sprouts came when a friend took me to Pasta Pomodoro and ordered them there. She absolutely loved their buttery goodness and said I HAD to try them. I did and I was hooked!

But, being the novice chef that I am, I had never cooked them at home before. The Hubs isn’t a big veggie fan and they aren’t exactly the most welcoming looking vegetable to cook (have you seen them actually on the stalk??).

A chance encounter with a precleaned bag of brussels sprouts at Trader Joes and the HUGE amount of recipes  that all of a sudden popped up in my Google Reader and just knew that I HAD to try preparing a dish with them!

So far, I’ve tried three recipes and I’m going to rate them here. Note this is based on my rating, since The Hubs wasn’t a fan (obviously…).

In 3rd place:

Caramalized Brussels Sprouts from Jenna at Eat, Live, Run

Source: eatliverun.com via Jen on Pinterest

This recipe was tasty with the perfect amount of sweetness, but it took MUCH longer than anticipated to chop up the sprout into little slivers. Next time, I think I would try to make the recipe in a similar way except I would quarter the sprouts for ease of cooking.

In 2nd place:

Sweet and Sour Brussels Sprouts from Emily at Daily Garnish

Source: dailygarnish.com via Jen on Pinterest

I love Emily’s blog, so when I saw this recipe come up, I knew I had to try it. It was delicious! It was the perfect amount of sweetness from the honey and sourness from the cider vinegar. Best part is that it is so healthy! Again, like the previous recipe, I would quarter the sprouts instead of keep them whole so that the flavor can coat every surface! YUM!

And my FAVORITE way (so far) to prepare brussels sprouts:

Brussels and Bacon from my friend Brenna

When I had this dish at my friend Brenna’s house, I was HOOKED! Even The Hubs ate it! Now obviously it is not as healthy as the other two, but boy is it good and SO simple to make.

All I had to do was chop up some garlic and fennel (uh first time I’ve EVER cooked with fennel!), quarter the brussels sprouts and cut the bacon into little pieces.

I cooked up the bacon first till it was just slightly crispy and removed from the pan.

Then I sautéed the garlic and fennel in some olive oil for a few minutes, added the quartered sprouts and cooked them until they were a bright green color and fragrant. Then I added the bacon and cooked everything together for a few additional minutes.

Delicious!

Next up in my continued adventures with brussels sprouts is to try to boil them first to make them a bit softer before roasting them. The Hubs likes his veggies cooked WELL so hopefully doing this will entice him to try them more often!

Do you love brussels sprouts as much as I do?
What are your favorite ways of preparing them?

7 Responses to ““Adventures in the Kitchen” – Brussels Sprouts Mania!”

  1. Elliott January 5, 2012 at 6:37 am #

    My favorite recipe for Brussels Sprouts is this one: http://summertomato.com/brussels-sprouts-with-bacon/.

    • Jen January 5, 2012 at 7:51 am #

      Thanks so much for the suggestion! I like that the recipe you have actually tell you about how to blanch the brussels sprouts and really highlight its flavor. I will definitely be pinning this recipe to try!

  2. Tonya January 5, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    Congrats on the new site! I HATED brussel sprouts as a kid too, but i went to the store one day and saw them behind the counter and they were roasted. I like roasted anything so I tried it and it was really good. I don’t have a recipe, but that may be one way to try it!

    • Jen January 5, 2012 at 7:49 am #

      Thanks so much for following me over! I’ll definitely have to try roasting them sometime. Maybe that will make them the perfect softness so that even The Hubs will like them!!

  3. dosomethingamzing January 5, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    Trader Joe’s used to have a have a pretty quick microwave container of Brussels Sprouts with seasonings…yum yum=)

    • Jen January 6, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      I buy my bags from Trader Joe’s, so I’ll have to look for the microwaveable kind next time I’m there to see if they still sell them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures in the Kitchen – Indian Inspiration « Living a Brighter Life - January 16, 2012

    […] a short while later we plated up the final product, paired with brown rice, brussels sprouts and bacon and a piece of naan. […]

Let's Chat!

