Kindle Woes

5 Jan

On New Year’s Eve, I went to go read my Kindle for a bit before dinner with The Fam and was SHOCKED to see this:

Broken Kindle
A small section of the screen was now BLANK! I couldn’t believe it! I had just read the Kindle the day before at lunch and everything was fine!

My Kindle 2 was only 5 months young. There shouldn’t be anything wrong with it!

Since The Hubs bought my Kindle at Target, I wasn’t sure whether I should go there or call Amazon about getting a replacement. I opted to call Amazon since it still fell under a 1 year limited warranty.

Amazon customer service was really helpful and quickly had another Kindle shipped out. I was so excited that they didn’t give me any trouble, that I FAILED to ask whether I would be getting a new Kindle (a KINDLE 3!!) or another Kindle 2.

Turns out since I have had my Kindle for more than 30 days, I would be getting a REFURBISHED Kindle 2. I was NOT happy! For $200 bucks, this thing should have lasted for more than 5 months with NO issues! I did ask if my warranty restarted with the new Kindle and Amazon said that it did. If ANYTHING goes wrong with this new Kindle (which I just got today), I WILL be asking for a NEW Kindle and will not settle for anything less. I’m crossing my fingers it won’t come to that though!

Has any one else had any problems with their Kindle? Did you end up getting a refurbished one too?

Also, has anyone read Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon? I feel like I’ve been reading it FOREVER and am only 77% done. I don’t want to quit now since I’m SO close to finishing, but I’m eager to start The Help!

Let's Chat!